Thursday, June 12, 2014

Throwback Thursday

So you know how everybody on facebook is doing the throwback Thursday (#TBT) with pictures and stuff...I thought it would be kinda fun to do that here, with books of course!

So today, I want to do a throwback and I want to know what your favorite book or series was as a child?



Psstt...mine are in the comments!

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Black Magic Sanction (Rachel Morgan #8) - Kim Harrison

 

 
Title: Black Magic Sanction (Rachel Morgan/Hallows #8)
 
Author: Kim Harrison

Overview from BN.com:

Rachel Morgan has fought and hunted vampires, werewolves, banshees, demons, and other supernatural dangers as both witch and bounty hunter—and lived to tell the tale. But she's never faced off against her own kind . . . until now.

Denounced and shunned for dealing with demons and black magic, her best hope is life imprisonment—her worst, a forced lobotomy and genetic slavery. Only her enemies are strong enough to help her win her freedom. But trust comes hard when it hinges on the unscrupulous tycoon Trent Kalamack, the demon Algaliarept, and a lowlife ex-boyfriend-turned-thief.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely love this series and the cast of characters (especially Jenks, the tough, foul-mouthed pixie). The plot continues to build and grow with each book, and the characters continue to develop, especially the main character, Rachel Morgan. The last couple of books have been developing the story behind Rachel's special powers and how they stem from her childhood, as well as bringing in some of the history between witches, elves, and demons. This current book continues to build on that a bit, which in my opinion, is definitely one of the more interesting sub-plots - I'm really excited to read and see where and what that will lead to.

The Rachel Morgan series is definitely in my top 5 favorite series. Rachel is a confident, strong heroine, while also being a little clumsy and insecure. I would definitely recommend this series to anyone who loves strong female characters and urban fantasy.

Rating: A

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Books I've Read in 2013

Going back through my Goodreads shelf, and making the list for 2013.

1. A Fistful Of Charms - Kim Harrison
2. Magic Bleeds - Ilona Andrews
3. The Total Money Makeover - Dave Ramsey
4. Magic Slays - Ilona Andrews
5. Dying Bites - D. D. Barant
6. 48 Days to the Work You Love - Dan Miller
7. City of Bones - Cassandra Clare
8. For A Few Demons More - Kim Harrison
9. Deadly Sting - Jennifer Estep
10. House Rules - Chloe Neill
11. The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership - John C. Maxwell
12. Grave Witch - Kalayna Price
13. Start: Punch Fear in the Face and Do Work That Matters - Jon Acuff
14. Gunmetal Magic - Ilona Andrews
15. Working Stiff - Rachel Caine
16. Get Rich Lucky Bitch - Denise Duffield-Thomas
17. In a Fix - Linda Grimes
18. Rogue Descendent - Jenna Black
19. Hounded - Kevin Hearne
20. Divergent - Veronica Roth
21. The Reluctant Reaper - Gina X. Grant
22. The Outlaw Demon Wails - Kim Harrison
23. Magic Rises - Ilona Andrews
24. Confessions of an Ex-Girlfriend - Lynda Curnyn
25. White Witch, Black Curse - Kim Harrison
26. Heart of Venom - Jennifer Estep
27. Insurgent - Veronica Roth
28. Allegiant - Veronica Roth
29. Heartburn - Nora Ephron
30. Fool Moon - Jim Butcher
31. Biting Bad - Chloe Neill
32. The Stupidest Angel - Christopher Moore (Re-read)



Updated: 6-3-14

Friday, May 30, 2014

I suck!

Holy No Updates, Batman!!  I was just thinking how I need to get back over here and start some reviewing again, and saw that it has been over TWO FREAKIN' YEARS since I've posted. I'm a terrible person and I hope you all will forgive me one day.

ANYWHO....

I've just bough a bunch of books (HOORAY!) and I'm super excited about it. Granted, most are books in a series, but purchasing any book makes me happy!


So in case you can't see, the books I got are:

Weight Watchers 50th Anniversary Cookbook - EJ and I are back on WW and are trying to find some easy yummy recipes to help us stay on track.

Inferno by Dan Brown - I've read all the other Robert Langdon books, and found them very intriguing. I was a bit disappointed in The Lost Symbol, so I'm hoping this one is better.

Wild Things by Chloe Neill - The latest (#9) in the Chicagoland Vampire Series. I love this series, and I love the heroine, Merit. I am feeling like things are starting to slow down a bit, but obviously not enough for me to stop reading!

A Perfect Blood & Ever After by Kim Harrison - #10 and #11 in the Rachel Morgan/Hollows series. I am in love with this series and the characters. Book #13 comes out in September, and it's the final one in the series, so I'm definitely wanting to get caught up and find out what happens!

Hexed & Hammered by Kevin Hearne - #2 and #3 in the Iron Druid Chronicles. A century old Druid living in Arizona in the body of a 21 year old. Atticus O'Sullivan has a vampire and werewolf team of lawyers as well as a talking Irish wolfhound. I read the first book last year (I know I jump around a lot) and thought it was really new and interesting. Can't wait to continue on with the series.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn - I read Gone Girl and LOVED it! Everyone keeps telling me that her other books are even better so I couldn't resist.

EJ bought the newest Jim Butcher book, Skin Game. I've only read the first 2 in the series, but again, definitely want to continue with the series. I'm just waaaaayy behind since this is the 15th book in the series. EJ's read them all, though...yay for him!

He also got the Volume 1 in the Malloreon series by David Eddings. I've not read any of Davind Eddings' books, but my good friend Georgette highly recommends it (she also recommended the Kevin Hearne books) and we usually like the same books. EJ really enjoyed the Belgariad series, and is contining to read his books.

If you're paying any attention to the picture, there is also a Metal Earth model kit of WWII tanks. Those are also EJ's. He has been really enjoying working on those models, and they are super cool when they are all put together.

So upcoming posts - I'm going to try and go back through my goodreads page and see if I can't complete that list of books I read in 2012, as well as make one for 2013 and 2014.

What are you all reading? Any good recommendations?





Sunday, February 19, 2012

Books I've Read in 2012

New year, new list!

1. A Feast for Crows - George R.R. Martin
2. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake - Aimee Bender
3. Bossypants - Tina Fey
4. The Help - Kathryn Stockett
5. Drink Deep - Chloe Niell
6. The Hours - Michael Cunningham
7. By a Thread - Jennifer Estep
8. From Dead to Worse - Charlaine Harris
9. The Girl Who Played with Fire - Stieg Larson
10. The Sorceress - Michael Scott
11. Dark Descendant - Jenna Black
12. Black Hills - Nora Roberts
13. Let's Pretend This Never Happened - Jenny Lawson
14. The Necromancer - Michael Scott
15. Dead and Gone - Charlaine Harris
16. Deadly Descendant - Jenna Black
17. Made in the USA - Billie Letts
18. Dead in the Family - Charlaine Harris
19. Zombies Sold Separately - Cheyenne McCray
20. Harvesting the Heart - Jodi Picoult
21. Dead Reckoning - Charlaine Harris
22. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest - Stieg Larson
23. A Discovery of Witches - Deborah Harkness
24. Vampires Dead Ahead - Cheyenne McCray
25. Sacre Bleu - Christopher Moore
26. Immortal in Death - J.D. Robb
27. Hot Six - Janet Evanovich
28. State of Wonder - Ann Patchett
29. Noah - Jaquelyn Frank
30. Deadlocked - Charlaine Harris
31. Magic Burns - Ilona Andrews
32. Naked Heat - Richard Castle
33. The Night Circus - Erin Morgenstern
34. Biting Cold - Chloe Neill
35. Widow's Web - Jennifer Estep
36. Precinct 13 - Tate Hallaway
37. Odd Thomas - Dean Koontz
38. The Magicians - Lev Grossman
39. Seven Up - Janet Evanovich
40. The Eyre Affair - Jasper Fforde
41. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk - David Sedaris
42. Every Wich Way But Dead - Kim Harrison
43. The Gargoyle - Andrew Davidson
44. The Book of Tomorrow - Cecelia Alhern
45. Miss Dreamsville and the Collier County Women's Literary Society - Amy Hill Hearth
46. Gone Girl - Gillian Flynn
47. Forever Odd - Dean Koontz
48. Magic Strikes - Ilona Andrews

Updated: May 30, 2014

Going back through my information on Goodreads, these are the books that I have marked as being read in 2012.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Books I've Read in 2011

Here's the 2011 list!

1. Biting Nixie  - Mary Hughes
2. All Together Dead - Charlaine Harris
3. Dreamfever - Karen Marie Moning (re-read)
4. Shadowfever - Karen Marie Moning
5. First Grave on the Right - Darynda Jones
6. Full Moon Rising - Keri Arthur
7. The Hunger Games - Suzanne Collins
8. Water for Elephants - Sara Gruen
9. Heat Wave - Richard Castle
10. Secrets of a Former Fat Girl - Lisa Delaney
11. My Horiztonal Life - Chelsea Handler
12. The Happiness Project - Gretchen Rubin
13. Magic Bites - Ilona Andrews (re-read)
14. Catching Fire - Suzanne Collins
15. Lighten Up: Love What You Have, Have What You Need, Be Happier With Less - Peter Walsh
16. Lover Unleashed - J.R. Ward
17. Vampires Not Invited - Cheyenne McCray
18. A Game of Thrones - George R.R. Martin
19. A Clash of Kings - George R.R. Martin
20. Twice Bitten - Chloe Neill
21. Tangled Threads - Jennifer Estep
22. Good Omens - Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman
23. Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins
24. A Storm of Swords - George R.R. Martin
25. Marked - P.C. Cast & Kristen Cast
26. Two for the Dough - Janet Evanovich
27. Three to Get Deadly - Janet Evanovich
28. American Gods - Neil Gaiman
29. Spider's Revenge - Jennifer Estep



*updated 1/1/2012

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Books I've Read in 2008

Books I’ve Read in 2008

1. A New Earth – Eckhart Tolle
2. Never Say Diet – Chantel Hobbs
3. Hungry: Lessons Learned on the Journey from Fat to Thin – Allen Zadoff
4. Empire Falls – Richard Russo
5. Tales from the Scales – Erin J. Shea
6. The Virgin Blue – Tracy Chevalier
7. Dark Lover – J.R. Ward
8. Lover Eternal – J.R. Ward
9. Lover Awakened – J.R. Ward
10. Lover Revealed – J.R. Ward
11. The Rossetti Letter – Christi Phillips
12. Sideways – Rex Pickett
13. Dead Until Dark – Charlaine Harris
14. Living Dead in Dallas – Charlaine Harris
15. Bitter is the New Black – Jen Lancaster
16. Savannah Blues – Mary Kay Andrews
17. Chocolat – Joanne Harris
18. The Wednesday Sisters – Meg Waite Clayton
19. The Princess Bride – William Goldman
20. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer
21. The Alchemyst – Michael Scott
22. The Magician – Michael Scott
23. Undead and Unwed – Mary Janice Davidson
24. The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory
25. You Slay Me – Katie MacAlister
26. Thin is the New Happy – Valerie Frankel
27. Magic in the Wind – Christine Feehan
28. Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
29. Bitten – Kelley Armstrong
30. Practical Demonkeeping – Christopher Moore
31. Twilight – Stephenie Meyer

This is not the complete list, but I didn't really keep very good track this year :(